inkxperiment : Robert Oster 1980 Whisper Red

gladiator fight …

With every review, I try to create an interesting mini-painting using only the ink I’m working on. This really forces me to explore all colour-range nuances that are present within the ink. Often quite challenging, but always real fun and my favourite part of every ink review. For this drawing I used HP Photo Paper. To create the background, I put a wet paper towel on the photo paper, and painted ink on top of it with a brush. The ink then migrated through the paper towel to the photo paper below, resulting in a nicely textured background. The photos of the drawing phases were taken with my phone under artificial light, and definitely show a much too orange hue.

I next drew the arena with the fighting mouse and mousetrap using my M-nibbed Safari. The cats in the audience were painted in with fountain pen and brush. The resulting mini-picture shows what can be obtained with Whisper Red as a drawing ink. My personal experience: red inks are really difficult to draw with. The result is – well – too red and busy and in-your-face. Definitely not my favourite drawing colour.

See also: ink review : Robert Oster 1980 Whisper Red

[Originally published on the Fountain Pen Network, on 12 April 2020]

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started