inkxperiment : L’Artisan Pastellier Callifolio Bleu Méditerranée

rendez-vous with Rama

As a personal challenge, I try to create interesting drawings using only the ink I’m reviewing. These single-ink drawings are great for stretching my drawing skills, and – above all – they are lots of fun. With these small pieces, I try to give you an idea of what the ink is capable of in a more artistic setting. This drawing is inspired by the 1973 novel of Arthur C. Clarke, where a huge cylindrical spaceship moves through our solar system. I started off with 300 gsm watercolour paper, on which I painted the background using heavily water-diluted ink. I next used Q-tips to draw in the Rama landscape, using different water/ink ratios. The cylindrical horizon line with the mysterious Rama machinery and vegetation was added with an M-nibbed Safari using pure Bleu Méditerranée. I finished the drawing by adding some accents to the Rama landscape with my Lamy Safari pen. I quite like the colour variation that this Callifolio ink allows. The end result gives you a good idea of what can be obtained with Bleu Méditerranée as a drawing ink.

See also: ink review: L’Artisan Pastellier Callifolio Bleu Méditerranée

[Originally published on the Fountain Pen Network, on 04 October 2019]

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started