inkxperiment : TAG Kyoto – kyo-no-oto keshimurasaki

For Dulcinea ! …

With every review, I try to create an interesting drawing using only the ink I’m working on. Such a one-ink drawing is excellent for showing the different colour-range nuances of the ink. These drawings are always my favourite part of the ink review: often challenging, but always great fun. For this drawing inspiration comes from the Miguel de Cervantes novel I’m currently reading. I started with a sheet of 300 gsm rough watercolour paper. With a simple Q-tip I painted in the background. I then added the man from La Mancha and the wind-mill with the fountain pen. With the Q-tip I added more and more ink to different parts of the drawing, resulting in the darker areas. I really enjoyed keshimurasaki – its broad tonal range makes it an excellent ink to draw with.

From idea to drawing

The idea for this inkxperiment comes from the Don Quichote novel I’m currently reading. Not unexpectedly, the iconic fight with the wind-mill is a totally logical choice for this drawing’s topic. I’m really bad at doing realistic drawings, so I naturally tend to a naïve and child-like style 😉 I started with some rough ideas, and a simple sketch of the composition I wanted to achieve. Next I used a sheet of 300 gsm rough watercolour paper, and painted in the background with a Q-tip cotton-swab, lightly dipped in the bottle of keshimurasaki. The rough paper allows for some nice-looking textures. I then sketched in the drawing’s subjects with my fountain pen. Once satisfied with the composition, I accentuated the drawing’s outline, and added multiple layers of ink with the Q-tip. I finished the piece by adding the sun in the sky, and some trees on the horizon. The toolset for this inkxperiment was really simple: some Q-tips, a fountain pen and the bottle of ink. The resulting drawing shows quite well the tonal range that can be obtained with this beautiful grey ink from the kyo-no-oto series.

See also: ink review : TAG Kyoto – kyo-no-oto keshimurasaki

[Originally published on the Fountain Pen Network, on 21 February 2020]

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started